Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Learning Disabilities, Learning Challenges? Let’s Learn English as a Foreign Language



Date: Sunday, February 18, 2018, 9:00PM – 10:30PM - Israel time
Time: 9 pm IST, 3 pm EST, 7 pm GMT (for more time zones - clic​k here​​)​
Duration: 1.5 hour
Registration: closed
Recording: click here​​​​
Presentation: click here
Contact: international@macam.ac.il​

Abstract:

Our meetup will look at why it is so difficult for people with learning disabilities such as dyslexia, dysgraphia and others, to learn English as a foreign language.

We will try to understand not only why it is difficult in general, but also why it is difficult for some students to learn how to read correctly and develop appropriate oral communication skills, and for others, learning how to communicate in English is the first and foremost challenge.

In addition, we will begin to understand what we can do, as teachers and tutors, to help these FL learners develop skills in English so that they, too, can join the international community where English has become so vital. ​

Lecturer​​​​​

Arona Korman Gvaryahu​

 

 

 

 
 

Arona Korman Gvaryahu has been working in the fields of Learning Disabilities and Teaching English as a Foreign Language for many years. She is the National Counselor for EFL/LD for the Israel Ministry of Education and assists teachers all over the country with issues associated with the teaching of English to people with special educational needs of all ages. In addition, she works with the branch of the Ministry that is responsible for pupils at risk from first through twelfth grades. As a teacher educator, she is particularly interested in developing ways to help teachers include all learners in their classrooms, at the same time placing the emphasis on understanding the learners’ abilities as well as the reasons for their challenges.